Did You Know?

Some interesting facts and figures about our Georgia Golf Hall of Fame members:

FIVE members have been inducted into the Atlanta Sports Hall of Fame: 

Bob Jones
Furman Bisher
Tommy Barnes
Larry Nelson
Louise Suggs

TWENTY-NINE members also belong to the Georgia Sports Hall of Fame:

Tommy Aaron
Tommy Barnes
Furman Bisher
Arnold Blum
Laura Coble
Pete Cox
Jim Dent
Allen Doyle
Ed Everett
Alexa Stirling Fraser
Jim Gabrielsen
Dynamite Goodloe
Watts Gunn
Charles Harrison
Bob Jones
O.B. Keeler
Dorothy Kirby
Nancy Lopez
Lyn Lott
Larry Mize
Larry Nelson
Bill Ploeger
Hugh Royer, Jr.
Doug Sanders
Harold Sargent
Tim Simpson
Louise Suggs
DeWitt Weaver, Jr.
Charles Yates
Danny Yates

SIX members have achieved membership in the World Golf Hall of Fame:  

Bob Jones
Nancy Lopez
Larry Nelson
Clifford Roberts
Hollis Stacy
Louise Suggs

The USGA's Bob Jones Award, presented annually since 1955, is the organization's highest honor. It is given in recognition of distinguished sportsmanship in golf and seeks to recognize a person who emulates Bob Jones' spirit, his personal qualities and his attitude toward the game and its players.  The Georgia Golf Hall of Fame is proud to claim not only the award's namesake as one of its own, but also four other winners of the prestigious honor:

1980: Charlie Yates

1998: Nancy Lopez

2001: Tom Cousins

2007: Louise Suggs (pictured)

All four major international golf competitions-- the Ryder Cup, Solheim Cup, Walker Cup and Curtis Cup -- have captains past, present and future who are also members of the Georgia Golf Hall of Fame.

Jim Gabrielsen - 1981 & 1991 Walker Cup

Bob Jones - 1928 & 1930 Walker Cup

Rosie Jones - 2011 Solheim Cup

Martha Kirouac - 2004 Curtis Cup (pictured)

Nancy Lopez - 2005 Solheim Cup

Davis Love III - 2012 Ryder Cup

Charlie Yates - 1953 Walker Cup

Danny Yates - 1999 & 2001 Walker Cup

Major Accomplishments: Georgia Golf Hall of Fame members have combined for 27 major titles on the men's, women's and senior professional circuits, including two Masters titles.

Tommy Aaron - 1973 Masters

Allen Doyle - 1999 Senior PGA Championship, 2001 Senior Players Championship, 2005 & 2006 U.S. Senior Open (pictured)

Bob Jones - 1923, 1926, 1929, 1930 US Opens, 1926, 1927, 1930 British Opens

Nancy Lopez - 1978, 1985, 1989 LPGA Championships

Davis Love III - 1997 PGA Championship

Larry Mize - 1987 Masters

Larry Nelson - 1981 & 1987 PGA Championship; 1983 U.S. Open

George Sargent - 1909 U.S. Open

Hollis Stacy - 1977, 1978, 1984 U.S. Women's Opens

Louise Suggs - 1949, 1952 U.S. Women's Opens, 1957 LPGA Championship


Georgia State Golf Association is the official golf association of the state of Georgia, and its membership is open to men, women, juniors, seniors, and golf clubs throughout the state. Golfers who join GSGA have access to invaluable resources and competitions that allow them to advance their knowledge and improve their golfing skills. Joining GSGA means joining an association of more than 350 clubs and 75,000 people who all have one thing in common: a love of golf.